This site is now managed by the Commonwealth Department of Health and Aged Care. 

Ethical review process for each Australian state and territory

National Mutual Acceptance of ethics review for multi-centre clinical trials

National Mutual Acceptance (NMA) is a national system for mutual acceptance of scientific and ethical review for multi-centre clinical trials conducted in publicly funded health services.

The Victorian, South Australian and Queensland Departments of Health, and the NSW Ministry of Health have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to introduce the National Mutual Acceptance (NMA) of ethical and scientific review  for multi-centre clinical trials being conducted in public hospitals in more than one of these states.

Documents have been developed by the New South Wales, Queensland and Victorian health departments to support users of interstate mutual acceptance and this information is available from:

Each Australian state has an ethical review process and information is available from the State and Territory website links below.

All these States have an ethics application process that utilises the Online Forms website.